Logo letter

How to Reset Netgear AC1200 Router to Factory Default Settings

The Netgear router reset process deletes all the customized settings of your AC1200 device. After the reset process, your device will become like you have purchased it just now. The factory reset is the most important step when it comes to troubleshoot various issues related to your device. However, most of the users are not aware of the exact AC1200 factory reset process. As a result, they continue to struggle with major issues with their Netgear WiFi router. If you are also sailing on the same boat, let us give you a rescue plan. In this tutorial, we will take you through a few demystify steps on how to perform factory reset process for your device without any hassle. Keep reading!

First of all, let us brief you about the factory reset process and why do you need to perform it.

About 90 percent of the users get confused with the reset and reboot. They think that they are similar terms. But we are sorry to say that the people who think reset and reboot are the same, they are wrong. Let us brief you deeply.

A reboot means turning off your router, waiting for a few minutes, and turning it on back again. Whereas, reset means to troubleshoot all AC1200 related problems, and reset all the data you have customized during the Netgear router setup process, including login credentials and so on.

On the off chance that your Netgear WiFi router is behaving weirdly, then a factory reset process is required to troubleshoot the issue. So, if you are facing any minor or major issue with your Netgear router, it is suggested to first reboot it. If rebooting doesn’t fix the issue for you, then go with the Netgear router reset process.

Here’s how to reset your Netgear WiFi router back to the factory default settings.

 

The reset process can be performed via 2 easy ways.

  • Using the reset button.
  • Using the web user interface.

How to reset the Netgear AC1200 router using the factory reset button?

Note: As mentioned above, the factory reset process will erase all your router’s customized settings made by you such as SSID, password, etc. You must take the backup of them so that when you perform the Netgear AC1200 setup again, you won’t encounter any issue.

Here’s how to reset Netgear router using the reset button:

  • Plug your Netgear WiFi router into a working power outlet and turn it on.
  • Find the reset button on your Netgear router.
  • Use a pin or paper clip to push the reset hole on your Netgear wireless router.
  • Keep holding the reset hole for a few seconds and release it.
  • After the reset process, your router will reboot automatically.

In this way, you can reset your Netgear wireless router back to factory default values.

How to reset Netgear AC1200 router using the web user interface?

Here’s how to reset Netgear router using the web user interface:

  • First of all, ensure that your Netgear AC1200 is receiving continuous and fluctuation-free power supply.
  • Then, get an Ethernet cable to connect your Netgear router to your existing modem.
  • Open a PC or laptop and connect it to the available WiFi network.
  • Make sure that your modem is turned on.
  • Pull up any web browser of your choice and enter default Netgear router IP address in the URL bar.
  • The Netgear AC1200 setup page displays.
  • Enter your Netgear router’s login credentials.
  • Locate the Advanced Settings option. Once found, click on it.
  • Head towards the Factory Reset option. Select it and wait for your router to reset back to the factory default settings.

That’s all folks! In this way, you can reset your Netgear AC1200 router back to the default factory settings. For any concerns, reach out to our technical department via comments.